Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

“Find rest, O my soul, in God alone; my hope comes from him.”  Psalm 62:5

This week has been quite the roller coaster for me.  I’ve been working on a lot of changes in my life, and at times they leave me worn, tattered, and drained.  If you’d ask my ever-supportive husband, I think even he would admit that I’ve had a bad week.  He’s spent his fair share of time just holding me while I pour out my heart, and I am so grateful and thankful for having him in my life and by my side.  He’s the very best, and I’m so glad he’s mine.  🙂

God has been working in my heart this week too.  Well, He’s always working in me, but sometimes it’s more obvious to me than at other times.  I wonder how long He’s been working to calm the storm in my heart, but I’ve just been too wrapped up in me to see His power.  Some of you know I am doing a Wednesday night class at my church.  We are using a Beth Moore study to dive into the life of David.  If you ever have a chance to do a Beth Moore study, I really hope you will.  The Lord works so powerfully through her, and there are so many times that I feel like she is talking right to me – and other women in the group have said they feel the same way.

In this week’s study, she weaved in Psalm 62, and it hit me very hard, very personally.  Her point of using this powerful chapter – “we need to rest our souls in God – (He is) our safe place”.  This chapter has life verse written all over it for me.

“My soul finds rest in God alone; my salvation comes from him.  He alone is my rock and my salvation; he is my fortress and I will never be shaken… Find rest, O my soul, in God alone; my hope comes from him.  He alone is my rock and my salvation; he is my fortress, I will not be shaken.”  Psalm 62: 1-2, 5-6

Wow. 

So, after a great Bible study Wednesday night, this afternoon I was in the kitchen baking these wonderful treats for dinner at my sisters place tonight.

Baking (like photography) is one of the places where I feel I am most in myself, and on this particular afternoon, I was talking (and praying) as if God were standing right there next to me.  And it was in that conversation that I felt like the answer to a prayer I had been pleading with Him about for days came over me.  I am so thankful for this blessing.  I have no idea if this is the answer to my emotional exhaustion or the problem causing the exhaustion, but I am sure that right now this is the answer the Lord is giving me.  So my heart resounds with a YES, Lord.

Thankful – yes, I am.

Happy AUTUMN!!! I celebrated with a pumpkin spice latte yesterday! 🙂

~Keep on Smiling!~

-JB

PS – I hope you’ll join us for the link up party on Friday over at Aisle to Aloha with my friend Lindsay!  I certainly look forward to sharing my blessings and reading about what my blogger friends are experiencing!!

