Tags

, , ,

On Saturday morning, I heard an Alan Jackson song that was released shortly after 9/11.  It’s a song that makes you think, and to this very day, the lyrics still send chills through my body.

For the sake of not quoting the whole song, here are a few parts that hit me deep:

Where were you when the world stopped turning that September day

Did you weep for the children
Who lost their dear loved ones
And pray for the ones who don’t know
Did you rejoice for the people who walked from the rubble
And sob for the ones left below

But I know Jesus and I talk to God
And I remember this from when I was young
Faith hope and love are some good things he gave us
And the greatest is love” –  “Where were you” by Alan Jackson

I can remember all the emotion of the day.  The fear.  The panic.  The uncertainty.

I was sitting in a high school history class that morning when the first tower was hit.  Little did we know, but there was history being made that would change the temperature of our nation.  We had learned about Pearl Harbor, but we had never imagined that we would witness history as epic as that attack.

In a lot of ways, when I think about it, my heart still races.  I still feel speechless.

Today we remember all who were lost that day.  I pray the Lord will give the people of our nation comfort and peace.

Blessings,

~JB

