Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Ok, ok, so I’m not much of a diva, but I try to make my every day experiences as exciting as possible.  Lately that has meant branching out, taking risks, and thinking outside of the box when it comes to household tasks and cooking adventures.  The problem with doing things in this manner is that sometimes it doesn’t work out the way you hope.  I don’t mind failing in the kitchen… as long as no one is looking.

This morning I remembered I had started thawing some leftover pumpkin the other day, and it was most likely time that it needed to be used.  I love anything that is pumpkin flavored, so it didn’t upset me in the least that I needed to create something yummy, warm, and pumpkin-y.

I had some other baking to do this morning, and I had quickly run out of eggs.  It’s been raining on the east coast for about a week now, and I just haven’t summoned up the strength to deal with dragging groceries to the car in the rain.   Not a big deal – just the definitive fact that whatever I was going to make wasn’t going to have eggs in it. 🙂

I settled on this recipe from “The Fresh Loaf”.  I did a little research on how to substitute the eggs with something else, and I decided on using an extra 1/4 of a cup of pumpkin and about a half cup of applesauce instead of 3 eggs. I also had to cut the recipe in half because of the amount of pumpkin that was leftover and make a few other adjustments.

Here is my version of this recipe for Pumpkin Muffins:

  • 1 cup of pumpkin puree
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 stick of butter – softened
  • 1/2 cup of applesauce
  • 1 1/2 – 2 cups of flour (based on the consistency as you mix it – you don’t want them to be too dry)
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon pumpkin spice
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • cinnamon and sugar
  • 1/2 cup of chocolate chips

First I combined the brown sugar in with the softened butter.  After it was creamed to a fluffy consistency, I mixed the pumpkin puree, vanilla, and applesauce.  In a smaller mixing bowl, I combined the flour, baking powder, cinnamon, and pumpkin spice.  After it was all mixed together well, I spooned batter into the greased pan for 6 muffins.  I sprinkled these 6 muffins with cinnamon and sugar.  I added about a half cup of chocolate chips to the remaining batter, and then scooped the rest of the batter into the pan for the remaining 6 muffin spots.  I put them in the oven for 25 minutes at 350 degrees.

Honestly, I was terrified when I put them in the oven.  I really didn’t think that 1/4 cup of pumpkin and a 1/2 cup of applesauce was going to make up for 3 large eggs.  In fact, I was pretty sure that I was going to take these muffins out of the oven and move them directly to the trash instead of the cooling racks.

Much to my surprise, the muffins started to rise and smell really good!  When I checked them with a toothpick after they baked for 25 minutes, the toothpick came out dry!

Woohoo!!! I just made some healthy pumpkin muffins using only what I had!!!  Victory!!

When I started off on the pumpkin muffin adventure, I was fully aware that it could be an epic fail.  I was okay with failing in the name of recipe progress, as long as I learned something.  And I felt like I had to try this, just so I would know, and I sure am glad I did.

The moral of the story – Take the Risk, it just might be worth it.  😀

~Keep on Smiling!~

-JB

 

 

