Tags

, , , , ,

Sometimes it seems like everyone’s on a diet.  If they aren’t on a diet, people are often complaining that they are putting on weight, feel sluggish through the day, or that they get winded when they go up the stairs. 

I’ve been trying to get better about exercising and be more committed to eating healthy.  Sounds easy, right?  Well, let me assure you, it’s not.  Making healthy meals is probably the easiest part.  Check out this awesome salad!

As for exercise, my goal is to walk 3 miles, 5 days a week. I shoot for about a 13-14 minute mile (for now), so I’m usually out for about 45 minutes.  Did you know that if you are trying to lose weight that you should be walking at least 4 hours a week?  I didn’t know this until that until I read this daily fitness tip from Fitness magazine.  And let me tell you, I thought my 45 minutes 5 days (and sometimes just 4) days a week was a great thing.  I’m on target with that, but that makes me feel need to step it up a bit! 

Thankfully I’ve got some awesome people cheering me on.  My hubby is my biggest encourager.  This is exactly what I need from him, and it has been rough getting him to be comfortable pushing me – because he loves me just the way I am and would never want me to feel differently than that.  (Aww, I love him).

So, with most things, I love goals.  As I am getting started, I have decided to forgo my second weigh-in until next week.  I was at the doctor last week, and I have that number in my head that is my starting point.  My scale might not be exactly the same, so I’m going to keep in mind that the doctor’s scale probably added about 2 or 3 pounds.  We’ll call that the wiggle room.  So instead of a weight goal, my next big goal will be climbing back up to the top of this mountain and enjoying it next Friday!!!  Woohoo!

For now I’ll keep lacing up my walking shoes, and making healthy choices.  I’ve been eating lots of fruits and vegetables, but I haven’t given up goodies completely.  I do still enjoy sweet treats and a regular meat and carb meal each day.  In the end, this can’t be a diet.  It has to be a lifestyle change.

~Keep on Smiling~

-JB

